Skip to content

A-huntering I go

March 15, 2010
tags: ,

An entire week since my last post and I feel like I have nothing to say.  Which is quite odd, since I have been spending the large majority of it playing my hunter who is now in <Single Abstract Noun> and I have surely had no lack of ideas or funny bits of guild chat that I could relay to you.

(In fact, between you and me, it’s rather exhausting reading all that green text zooming by, and more than one guildie has been so distracted by the /gchat that they completely forgot what they had intended to do at X-time.  Such as how I ran all the way to Moonglade and forgot to turn in the quest that I had gone there solely for… only to realize that I had forgotten when I landed in Tanaris.)

And interestingly enough, I’ve been spending the majority of my time questing rather than utilizing the LFG system.  Through my 30s and into my 40s I quested through Stranglethorn Vale – one of my favorite zones in the game.  There’s always plenty to do there and certainly plenty of beasts to kill to get your skinning skill up when you drop jewelcrafting for it.  (Protip, dontchaknow)  I am now 51 and I’ve found that for the last several levels, the damn system wants to throw me in Sunken Temple.

I do not like this instance.

I had run Sunken Temple a handful of times at level with guildies and a few times I guilted Lus into running an alt through and those times weren’t too bad (since I had Lus to guide me and tell me where to go.)  Most of the time when I’ve gone through on my hunter, there has been someone who (mostly) knew where to go and what to do, but the combination of lack of awareness (some squishy blundering around corners and into mobs) plus the length of the instance (long periods of time dealing with lack of awareness and logic) makes for a pretty cranky hunter.  I am always vastly relieved to get the instance over with and will not queue again for quite some time.

I think I’ll have to do even more questing until I hit 58 however, since BRD is coming up on my list and it’s another of of those instances where you need someone with a firm directive text to keep everyone in line and I don’t think I have the luck to have many of those in my future.

Happily, I am closing in on 55, when I will reach my mini-goal of taming a Frostsaber Cub.  I have wanted one of these for a pet for a very long time, ever since I saw the pet that a friend had.  So… I have slowly been biding my time and creeping towards 55 so I can get my cat!  I am only mildly worried that I will need to take a break after I do that, since I’ll have achieved my goal for the time being… however, I’m sure that the allure of the Outlands (and less painful instances!) will prove too much and I’ll be back at the grindstone.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. March 16, 2010 11:19 AM

    I wish I had time to play more in SAN. What with all the business happening in my raiding guild and offline, I’ve been concentrating on mains and taking downtime. I justify this by getting some rested on my SAN pally, Castet.It’s funny you say that you love STV – I positively despise it! In all the years I have played WoW, I have never leveled there. On the PVP servers I’ve been on that is gank central. I suppose on a PVE server though it could be very nice to level in. I’ll have to remind myself of that should I get my pally to that level.And man, talk about ST! I have a resto druid that’s getting sent into ST, and it’s funny you should write about ST groups because I did as well. I think it just short fuses everybody’s patience. I leveled my holy priest solely in dungeons so I know that place like the back of my hand but wow, other folks take a wrong turn and it’s game over and the group falls apart. And as you’ve said, the outlook doesn’t get much better with BRD looming ahead – longest, hardest, most convoluted leveling dungeon, in my opinion. Eek!I’m rambling. Just dropped in to check out how things are going. :) See you in SAN!

  2. March 16, 2010 1:32 PM

    I know what you mean :)When I was playing my mage on Vashj, all I did was queue in LFD, maybe kill some stuff while I waited, but spammed instances. On my little rogue in SAN, I join LFD but occasionally I’m happy enough to finish off the pile of quests in my log and have a chat. I love that! I haven’t quested in the old world for about a year now, and I actually quite like it. It’s less boring and repetitive than Outlands and Northrend to me, and heck, I’m enjoying slacking a little. Working out my characters RP background, levelling Lockpicking, levelling Engineering, maybe PvPing a bit, or just sitting and chatting or reading blogs. Did you transfer a hunter/heirlooms over? You seem about as into the levelling game in SAN as I do :D

  3. Anea permalink
    March 16, 2010 7:33 PM

    @Caste – hm – I always forget the leveling can be so much more painful on other realms (PvP) then mine (which is of course PvE) haha – so I enjoy exactly where I like and as I like. Thanks for stopping by! :>@Jaedia – yes, I did get the hunter transferred over with heirlooms, so my leveling is going much quicker than the other people in SAN – I am ALL about the leveling game right now :>

  4. March 17, 2010 4:48 PM

    Even with Emblems, how the heck did you level so fast??? I’m still 17. I must be the slowest player EVER.

  5. March 19, 2010 1:31 AM

    I can’t wait to see that Frostsaber cub!

  6. March 19, 2010 1:31 AM

    I can’t wait to see that Frostsaber cub!

Leave a Reply

