Skip to content

Bulleted musings

March 28, 2010
  • ga-LOSHES
  • Marshfang Slicer: is this really the best idea for a hunter pet?  It looks like it would feel like a stingray – and stingrays are squishy.  (I know, I’ve felt one.  Smoosh smoosh.)
  • As you know, I’ve tamed Humar (a black lion) and a Frostsaber Cub (a white cat) – is it silly of me to want to use Humar in the Outlands since if he gets “dirty” it won’t show, whereas I would use the Frostsaber Cub in Northrend, since he would be in snow?
  • I’ve been thinking about battlecries.  Lus has been playing stupid FFXIII and Fang keeps saying “EAT THIS!” as she’s fighting… which is rather annoying when listening to it over and over but in battle, might it work?  What battlecry would/does your character use?  I’m not quite sure what my hunter’s would be – but rest assured, I’ve been pondering it.
  • As you might have read on twitter, I’ve been working on getting rep with the Purple Cat Guys.  It was purely on a whim – I tamed one of the purple cats, so I decided I wanted a mount to go with it.  I went up to Winterspring and started killing stuff.  And just kept killing – it was interesting that I was able to settle into a “grinding mindset” so easily and be content killing the same things over and over and over.  This worked for several days – in fact, I didn’t even want to write this post, for fear I would get out of the mindset.  I’m past halfway honored with them, which isn’t too bad before I needed a “break” (shut up, that’s what I’m telling myself)
  • This hunter is turning out to be a fun character.  I do what I want, when I want.  When I started her, I told myself that I shouldn’t worry about doing all the quests in an area, because she had heirlooms and things would go by so fast, it wouldn’t be viable to try.  So, I haven’t.  I just quest where, when and if I want – I queue as I want and don’t worry that I am not getting all the classic dungeon achievements.  I even faction change as I please.  And it’s really quite liberating.  It makes leveling FUN again, like it used to be when I first started playing and I didn’t have to worry about doing it “right” or “completing” things or achievements.  It’s been a long time since playing a character was this fun.
  • Way back at level 40 when I learned Track Giants, I thought, “When would anyone want to track a giant?” When you are vainly searching for the last Frostmaul Giant for a rep quest, that’s when!
6 Comments leave one →
  1. March 29, 2010 4:00 PM

    My hunter’s current battlecry is something along the lines of "By my pretty floral bonnet, I will end you." or something like that. It’s a Firefly quote. In BM extreme mode she yells "Go for the eyes Boo!" which is a BG2 reference (plus my tanky pet is named Boo). She’s had a bunch, like For Elune, or Time to Die. I have a pet attack/hunter’s mark macro and I find the battlecry helpful as a reminder. Sort of a "have I yelled? If yes, target marked, pewpew. If not, should not be pewpewing, mark and then pewpew" thing.

  2. March 30, 2010 3:54 PM

    Smoosh, smoosh. I love rays, they feel so soft!

  3. Asara permalink
    March 30, 2010 4:53 PM

    The purple kitty (aka Riding Hobbes [<3 BRK & TJ]) is one of my favorite mounts. You see someone on one of those, you KNOW they worked their tail off to get it. None of this luck of the RNG stuff. I started grinding for it back in Vanilla, but never finished until BC when they fixed the rep gain to be constant regardless of level.I rolled a couple of new alts recently myself. When you’re in a guild that raids, there are expectations. I get tired of expectations sometimes, I just want to run around and do silly things without someone wanting something from me. It’s nice to get away.I need to work on battle cries for my hunter and my paladin. My shadow priest just doesn’t seem like the sort who’s inspired enough by battle to start shouting. She’s more of a bookish type. Always picking flowers and pressing them between the pages of whatever book she has on hand at the time. Silly girl!

  4. Asara permalink
    March 30, 2010 4:53 PM

    The purple kitty (aka Riding Hobbes [<3 BRK & TJ]) is one of my favorite mounts. You see someone on one of those, you KNOW they worked their tail off to get it. None of this luck of the RNG stuff. I started grinding for it back in Vanilla, but never finished until BC when they fixed the rep gain to be constant regardless of level.I rolled a couple of new alts recently myself. When you’re in a guild that raids, there are expectations. I get tired of expectations sometimes, I just want to run around and do silly things without someone wanting something from me. It’s nice to get away.I need to work on battle cries for my hunter and my paladin. My shadow priest just doesn’t seem like the sort who’s inspired enough by battle to start shouting. She’s more of a bookish type. Always picking flowers and pressing them between the pages of whatever book she has on hand at the time. Silly girl!

  5. Anea permalink
    March 31, 2010 3:36 PM

    @Asara: I read someone’s blog post (or was it a wiki, can’t remember) about what the rep gains USED to be back in Vanilla and I thanked my lucky stars that I got mine now – it would have taken forEVER back then. There was even math about how many hours/days it would take you back then and now in order to get the mount – quite interesting.

  6. Asara permalink
    April 1, 2010 12:56 PM

    Oh yes, I can testify that it was awful. At 70/80 you can pretty much zoom through the kill quests, but back then it was definitely not so easy. I didn’t even get far enough to unlock the next set of quests because I got so sick of killing bears and chimeras. Blech!

Leave a Reply

