Skip to content

In which there is art

March 31, 2010
tags: ,

(and also some musings, but ART!)

So, a while back I said that I was going to get my hunter and her pet drawn by Fyreuni of Daily Quests – last night she finished!  It looks great and she was very patient with me making large last minute changes.  I am so psyched with the way this turned out and I wish I could make it all fit in a new banner.

Revel in the glory of Peilu and Kale’i.

I feel I should mention that I finished my rep grind with the Purple Tiger Guys – I now have the achievement.  (And I actually did get my first exalted reputation with them too, funnily enough.)  My brain is a little more dead than it was before – it took me about three days of actually working on rep (I took Saturday off) to get it done.  Now that I have the mount, I don’t think that I’m enjoying it as much as I should, but I think that’s because my brain is coming out of a coma.  (Also, the mount doesn’t have any armor, did you know?  I never noticed it until I was running around on what felt like a “naked” mount.)

Last night I powerleveld my fishing up to Northrend levels… (wait, powerlevel fishing?  Yeah, right.) and it struck me as odd that after coming off of an intense rep grind that I would choose to do something else equally brainless and repetitive.  Had I lost my will to play?  (I told myself no, I just wanted to do something blah for a bit while I watched too much Law & Order.)

But it did get me thinking… I’m in Northrend now – I’ve reached the last leveling milestone until I’m 80.  But what then?  I was going to save the “now what?” post for when I hit 80, but as I’m going though Northrend, shouldn’t I have a vague goal in mind for the end?  When I was leveling Anea through Northrend with Lus towards the big eight-oh, I know what we were going for.  We were going to get 80, we were going to gear up and we were going to raid.  It was nice and simple and it worked as a motivation.  We have places to go and bosses to kill.  But for this one?  She’s not in any sort of real guild (just our vanity guild) and so I don’t have a guild to raid with after she finishes leveling.  Furthermore, do I even want to raid?  I’m not sure.  I think I’d like to see the content, but not on any sort of strict and demanding schedule.  I suppose I could just run heroics until I fully lose my sanity.  But really… other than heroics and raiding what is there to do at 80?

I guess there’s PvP that I could do (which I wouldn’t, ’cause I get hives just thinking about it) but really, isn’t this game designed for raiding to be the end game content?  It’s CALLED end game content, for crying out loud.  Is this what I’m supposed to do?

And truly, I suppose there is also secret option four, that I shouldn’t even think about thinking about: start a new alt.  If you don’t want to do the end game content and you don’t want to PvP with your new 80… I guess start all over?

I hate to think about it.

(Sorry I totally hijacked my own post with non-arty ramblings.  I mislead you.)

8 Comments leave one →
  1. March 31, 2010 3:20 PM

    Very cool drawing! Just a thought of something out could do… since you seem to really dig collecting cool hinter pets, you could set out to train the coolest, most badass, pets out there. That’ll keep you busy for a while.

  2. Anea permalink
    March 31, 2010 3:27 PM

    @Razorstorm:I had actually had a goal to tame Nuramoc as soon as I was able, but after all the chimeras I had to kill in Winterspring for the mount, I’m sick of looking at them, haha. Of course, there are the Spirit Beasts I could tame when I’m 80, since I am Beast Mastery. However, I’ve been having thoughts about whether or not it would be "fair" to try to tame pets for prestige that I wouldn’t really use… but that’s a post for another day, I suppose :)

  3. Anea permalink
    March 31, 2010 3:27 PM

    @Razorstorm:I had actually had a goal to tame Nuramoc as soon as I was able, but after all the chimeras I had to kill in Winterspring for the mount, I’m sick of looking at them, haha. Of course, there are the Spirit Beasts I could tame when I’m 80, since I am Beast Mastery. However, I’ve been having thoughts about whether or not it would be "fair" to try to tame pets for prestige that I wouldn’t really use… but that’s a post for another day, I suppose :)

  4. March 31, 2010 3:41 PM

    Wow, that’s a very cool art piece. And congrats on finishing with the Purple Tiger Guys!

  5. Anea permalink
    April 1, 2010 5:51 AM

    @Rades: Thanks! :>

  6. April 1, 2010 8:00 AM

    Very cool drawing!

  7. Jack permalink
    April 1, 2010 2:37 PM

    Congratulations. I still haven’t finished the frostsaber rep grind. Some day . . .

  8. Anea permalink
    April 1, 2010 5:34 PM

    @Pndrev: Thanks!@Jack: You still could! I read one guide that said the only way to do it and stay sane was to do about 1000 rep worth of quests a day and that’s it. It’ll take you longer, but at least it only feels like dailies and not entire days of commitment.

Leave a Reply

