Skip to content

Celestial Steed GET!

April 15, 2010

Yes, I have to share it with you.  I read it on MMO Champion this morning and figured that it would be a while before we saw it, then later this morning there was a tweet that said they were in the store RIGHT NAO.

Who was I to say no?  I had thought they looked pretty awesome in the morning when I was bleary eyed and they looked even better once I was fully awake and functional.  I hadn’t been one of the people who bought any/all of the vanity pets that Blizz threw up in the store, so I figured that I could treat myself to this pretty, glowy, heavenly mount.  (c wut i did thar?)

Anea on her Celestial Steed.  (I apologize for the poor quality.  It’s all I have to work with right now.)

Luckily, I was one of the first to get into the store and get payment processed (I see that some people have queues estimated in multiple hours) and (probably for this reason) I only saw four of the new mounts in Dalaran when I logged in quickly to get screenshots.

I’m sure later tonight you won’t be able to turn around without seeing one or bumping into one, but I’m pretty sure that after the craze dies down, there will only be a few of these out and active so it will feel more “special” – perhaps.  Or maybe there are tons of people out there, thinking like I am, haha.

Will you be planning to get this mount?  Have you already?  Thoughts?

ETA: There is quite a lot of dissent about this mount, which I should have expected.  There is a quiet undertone of “you shouldn’t spend real money for in-game items” combined with a louder “everyone will have it so it isn’t special”.

I already addressed the “dying excitement” angle, but Miyari from Wowhead says it nicely too:

…The mount IS accessible to anyone, so if it isn’t cool enough for some people’s e-peens, oh well – don’t use it. Nobody’s forcing anyone to buy it, and ultimately the decision to use a mount should be based on what YOU think of it, not what anyone else does. ;)

I bought one, and I’m using it because it’s pretty and I like it. And that’s good enough for me.

(emphasis mine)

23 Comments leave one →
  1. April 15, 2010 6:03 PM

    I’d love to, but I crashed the store. ;)(Seriously, as I was putting in my authenticator number, the store went down and, from all accounts, stayed down.)

  2. April 15, 2010 6:04 PM

    Is it just me, or do you not have a head in that picture? o.O

  3. April 15, 2010 6:06 PM

    Didn’t buy, don’t plan on buying. Dalaran is teeming with them so it’s not special anymore… plus I can think of much better things to do with 25 euro.

  4. April 15, 2010 6:06 PM

    Didn’t buy, don’t plan on buying. Dalaran is teeming with them so it’s not special anymore… plus I can think of much better things to do with 25 euro.

  5. April 15, 2010 6:06 PM

    I’m a tryin’ but after being hung up for about 15 minutes on the same queue position and time estimate, it refreshed me to a new position and a 52 minute wait. I’m keeping an eye on it in my second monitor but it’s been about another 15 minutes and no change.

  6. April 15, 2010 6:06 PM

    I’m a tryin’ but after being hung up for about 15 minutes on the same queue position and time estimate, it refreshed me to a new position and a 52 minute wait. I’m keeping an eye on it in my second monitor but it’s been about another 15 minutes and no change.

  7. April 15, 2010 6:39 PM

    I’ve bought the previous pets (benefit of being Old with a Proper Job). This mount? I would have rushed, if everyone else wasn’t rushing. And now I feel that if everyone’s going to have one, should I bother?

  8. April 15, 2010 11:25 PM

    I don’t care about being "special" and all that rot with it. The fact that it’s an account wide mount that I could use for all my characters is a big selling point for me. I’ll be buying their racial mounts anyway, but I can use the sparkle pony for a flying mount for all my toons? Sign me up! I’ll probably wait awhile until the rush has died down before I buy one though.

  9. April 16, 2010 12:22 AM

    Oooooo shiny!! Looking forward to seeing them in Dal tonight!

  10. April 16, 2010 7:11 AM

    Yeah the fact that it’s account wide and functions as land/air is really what sold me. Also a great gift choice for earning points with the girlfriend!

  11. April 16, 2010 7:22 AM

    I’m thinking about buying one. My only problem is that it may actually be TOO cool for my level 30 toons. :DThe good thing about the store is that all the items there are purely cosmetical in nature – the Celestial Steed is no faster than your fastest current mount.

  12. April 16, 2010 10:25 AM

    It is insanely pretty… I am faintly embarrassed to want this My Little Pony as badly as I do :P

  13. Jack permalink
    April 16, 2010 4:33 PM

    It’s account wide?! I did not realize that. That is just awesome.It’s a beautiful mount. I was hoping it would be accessible and if it was, then I planned to go get it for at least one of my toons. Congrats on getting yours so quickly and easily. I was kind of disappointed to hear it was purchasable because what I really meant by "accessible" was "accessible in game". Not that I have any moral objection to purchasing cosmetic items with IRL cash . . . I just don’t do it. I guess a mix of how would I justify spending that money to my wife who doesn’t like the game anyway and my own stingy nature . . . there needs to be something more tangible than pretty pixels to convince me to buy it.Having a starter mount for all my toons forever as soon as they hit the appropriate level and visit a trainer? That’s a convenience. That’s more tangible. Enough to justify $25? Well . . . it is beautiful too . . .

  14. April 16, 2010 4:46 PM

    Yes, all the Blizzard store pets are account wide, which I personally think is awesome.They don’t accept PayPal or bank transfer (which they DO accept for subscriptions). No mount/pet for me. :(

  15. April 17, 2010 5:29 AM

    I LOVE the idea of an account-wide mount… but…I don’t like the way it looks. I must be the only one on earth who doesn’t. I’m squeamish about transparent bodies. Especially ones with solids embedded inside. >_< I feel like I can see his insides. Give me a nice account bound dragonhawk or something and I’m in.

  16. Jolie permalink
    April 17, 2010 6:46 AM

    I bought this the moment I saw it in the store (oh well, had to wait over an hour because I was number 34000 in the queue, but you get the point). I absolutely love it, especially because I got it on all my alts also. I got a /w from someone asking why I paid money for a mount (in a way that made it clear that what he was really saying was "lol you’re stupid"), which made me kinda angry. I can understand why some people don’t want to buy this, but why do they have to try to ruin it for the rest of us? I didn’t buy it to look cool or anything, I bought it because I really like the mount (I mean, it’s a pony made of stars!) and I certainly still do no matter what people think.

  17. Valli permalink
    April 17, 2010 9:01 AM

    Agree with the OP: Its about whether YOU like looking at it – you play WoW looking at your OWN characters far more then any other person playing. I for one am glad to be rid of the drake and getting this as it looks brilliant. If it’s not unique enough for people, simply because it’s accessible to everyone willing to pay for it, SO WHAT! Do you really think characters are that unique anymore anyway when everyone one and his grandpa is running around in exactly the same looking gear?It’s only £17… suck it up and get one, or don’t complain. The people who buy it clearly don’t give a toss about being #1 in uniqueness and it’s all about pleasing themselves but the question is: why should they care about what everyone else has/hasn’t got, and why do you?

  18. April 17, 2010 9:45 PM

    /agreeI don’t think anyone should not get something they like just because others are getting it. If you can still enjoy it, then enjoy it!

  19. April 17, 2010 9:45 PM

    /agreeI don’t think anyone should not get something they like just because others are getting it. If you can still enjoy it, then enjoy it!

  20. Gorman Ghaste permalink
    April 18, 2010 2:24 AM

    I’ve always felt sad for people that can only appreciate rare things–they must spend most of their life feeling unhappy.

  21. Gorman Ghaste permalink
    April 18, 2010 2:24 AM

    I’ve always felt sad for people that can only appreciate rare things–they must spend most of their life feeling unhappy.

  22. April 18, 2010 8:42 PM

    after the craze dies down, there will only be a few of these out and active so it will feel more "special"That’s whut I’m thinking too, I’ve just got the pile of Rams and Silver Covenant Hippogryph I’ve been pining after for so long so it’s getting all the love from my alts for now ;)And, couldn’t care less if people don’t like it, it fucking sparkles! :D

  23. April 18, 2010 11:00 PM

    Grats on your new mount! I know a lot of ppl QQ – but who cares? If you like your mount, that’s all that matters :)

Leave a Reply

