Skip to content
4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 25, 2010 12:07 PM

    It sucks but I’d take it as an opportunity to do something else. Wow will be there again in under a week, maybe go try something else either gaming or hobby wise? My ex was particularly stupid once and gave her details to a friend (who was just stupid all the time) with terrible internet habits. You see this guy shared shit with his friends and they were forever character hopping but basically one of them got keylogged. So then all of them got keylogged and while he was hacked he asked to play her account while he was waiting for a restore. She let him as she’d taken a brief break from playing (during which I’d geared her in pretty much all 3 specs) and sure enough I came home one day, logged on and found everything gone. Was awful and put me off the game for a while. But it was good in a way as when I did return I was ready to play properly again as opposed to getting bored and sitting around shattrath.

  2. Suntiger permalink
    May 25, 2010 9:04 PM

    It does take about a week; I had the same thing happen to me recently (everything gone, spam character created) except no authenticator was added in my case and no gbank was involved. I popped in a GM ticket, got a response in about 5 minutes saying it was forwarded to the correct department, and did some other shit for like 5-6 days. One day around noon they sent me 5 emails, one per character, listing the stuff they’d in-game mailed back to me, down to Relics of Ulduar. Got literally everything back.Of note, I could not get through by phone – there was no hold system, just "high volume of calls, unable to answer you" and a hangup.Other good advice Blizzard gave me, besides get an authenticator (yeahhh) – change your account email.In any case, it will probably not take long enough to get his stuff back that he’ll have time to regear, and he will almost certainly get it back.Good luck to you guys.

  3. May 26, 2010 7:04 PM

    It really is astounding the number of people who are just too lazy or stubborn to get one. My best friend plays and he scoffs at them, saying they are stupid and annoying to login. He hasn’t gotten hacked. YET. I think I’ll get him one for his birthday so he has no choice. Or better yet, since I know his account info, maybe I’ll get him one and add it so he has no choice! Muahaha! It’s for his own good!!

  4. Anea permalink
    June 3, 2010 3:41 PM

    @NaturalGamerGirl: Wow… definitely a low blow to dismiss the spirit beast! I guess stripping an account’s characters and items wasn’t satisfaction enough for them, they needed to stoop to a lower level. Hopefully your friend found a replacement pet of the same type?

Leave a Reply

