Skip to content
11 Comments leave one →
  1. May 23, 2010 5:47 PM

    I’ll be honest, it took me a while to get an authenticator but I got one after an influx of me/my friend/my significant other/my guildy was hacked, lost everything and the guild bank was cleared, and I’m damn glad I did. I wouldn’t want to be without one, even though I’ve played for possibly 3 or 4 years and never been hacked, you can never be too safe. Another one I’ve seen a lot is people no being allowed guild bank access, to take at least, unless they have an authenticator attached to their account (the proof is in the puppy). It’s not for everyone, but getting an authenticator is so easy now that it’s not a bad rule. Hope Lus gets his stuff back and soonish though :< I can’t even imagine the terrible mood I’d be in if that happened to me.. altitis does that to you I guess. Good luck.

  2. Anea permalink
    May 23, 2010 7:31 PM

    @Jaedia: Actually, it was a guild requirement that prompted me to get the authenticator. I had been in MoodyDK’s guild on my DK alt and I was asked in guild if I had an authenticator (so that I could be promoted and therefore have access to a tab of the bank) and at first I thought, "Well, why bother, I am not going to take anything from the guild bank" but I figured that I may as well. So, it was just lucky happenstance that I got one. (And a bit thanks to Moody’s guild for having the rule that prompted me to get the authenticator!)

  3. May 23, 2010 11:39 PM

    That really sucks, and I hope you get all your stuff back. I know a guildie of mine had that happen, exactly the same thing with the sudden authenticator on the account and things taken from the guild bank (it was our second-in-command if you will so he had access to *everything*)The good news are, he had his stuff back within 36 hours.I have an authenticator since about 1,5 years now I think. They’re so good.

  4. May 24, 2010 6:53 AM

    I got hacked before authenticators but I know the feeling. I got one as soon as I could (Had to wait til they were in stock cause until recently they were always sold out) I was at work when I found out and I was trting to figure out what I was going to say if someone asked me why I was on the phone with Blizzard, but no one noticed thankfully. They were really good too I think I got everything back that I could think of and most of the guild bank stuff too in like 4-5 days. Hope everything works out

  5. May 25, 2010 7:49 AM

    Damn. I feel with you and hope you’ll get everything back.But reading posts like this I’m glad I got my authenticator at the very start of my subscription. There really isn’t any reason not to use one…

  6. May 25, 2010 12:07 PM

    It sucks but I’d take it as an opportunity to do something else. Wow will be there again in under a week, maybe go try something else either gaming or hobby wise? My ex was particularly stupid once and gave her details to a friend (who was just stupid all the time) with terrible internet habits. You see this guy shared shit with his friends and they were forever character hopping but basically one of them got keylogged. So then all of them got keylogged and while he was hacked he asked to play her account while he was waiting for a restore. She let him as she’d taken a brief break from playing (during which I’d geared her in pretty much all 3 specs) and sure enough I came home one day, logged on and found everything gone. Was awful and put me off the game for a while. But it was good in a way as when I did return I was ready to play properly again as opposed to getting bored and sitting around shattrath.

  7. May 25, 2010 12:34 PM

    Got one :-)I hope things get sorted real soon for you.

  8. May 25, 2010 2:30 PM

    I got hacked late on a Friday night and had everything back by Monday morning. I think the Authenticator that gets put on your account is actually put on by Blizzard to shut down the hacker. I got an Authenticator of my own after that. Locking the gate after the horse has bolted and all that, but still.Hopefully Lus will get his gear back, but I agree with you on the iPhone Authenticator App. You’ve got the iPhone already and the App is free; there is just no excuse at all for <B>NOT</B> having the iPhone Authenticator.

  9. May 26, 2010 12:56 AM

    Ack, feel your pain and I know EXACTLY what you meant about the ‘wondered why he didn’t apologize to me’. I have three younger brothers who all (finally) play WoW and playing on the same server is a great way to stay in contact. I’ve been finding myself getting nervous lately and the potential for them to get keylogged and quit the game as a result.I was actually on the Blizzard store yesterday looking at ordering a few for them and I think after reading this today I’ll definitely do it. It’s not worth losing that contact!

  10. May 26, 2010 6:35 PM

    With me, hubby and my 16 year old daughter playing WoW, I can’t believe we were that foolish not to have authenticators, but we were. One morning I went to the mailbox and saw my hubby’s toon standing next to me. He was in the shower at the time and his system not even on.They ravaged all 3 accounts and we immediately ordered our authenticators. I always recommend to folks to have them..

  11. NaturalGamerGirl permalink
    June 2, 2010 5:26 PM

    It’s always so sad to hear these stories, and I hope everything gets straightened out quickly.In my experience, Blizzard is pretty good about getting your items and gold back fairly timely. Unfortunately, the hackers are also getting more mean-spirited. A friend and guildie had her account hacked about a month ago, and the hacker dismissed her spirit beast pet! Obviously the hacker gets nothing from this, it’s just a slap in the face. She asked Blizzard about getting her pet back, but as it is not an actual item, it could not be restored. Also, a day or two ago, the top guild on my server was disbanded after the GM’s account got hacked. Again, I understand why the hacker would clean out the gbank, but disbanding the guild has no monetary benefit. They were able to get their same guild name, but now have to reinvite all of their members.

Leave a Reply

