Skip to content

In which I ramble on (as per usual)

June 1, 2010

So.

I totally lied about getting back in the swing of things, apparently.  I promised that I would sort things out with scheduling time properly for blogging, commenting and playing.  It’s all gone to playing.

I’m telling myself that it’s ok, you all understand since you all play too.  I’ll let myself be deluded and believe it to be true.

Honestly though, I think we’ve all been there.  Way wrapped up in a character and all you want to do is work on them, whether leveling, professions, PvP or achievements.  Honestly, I think that if we’re all passionate enough about the game to blog about it or read other people’s blogs about the game, we’ve all been there.

The last three weeks has been an interesting turn of events, not only with the whole hacking thing either.  Back on the 10th of May was when I got the last achievements for my Troll shaman and started playing a Gnome warrior, since Lus didn’t want to play his Horde rogue.  Instead he wanted to play his Gnome warlock.

It was with sadness I bid my shaman adieu, since I knew I’d never see her again.  I had made the decision to leave the shaman as is, since she was supposed to be paired with Lus’ rogue.  I would instead play Alliance-side on the warrior, so that at least we were playing “together” if not together, since there was a more than considerable level gap.

And I poured myself into that warrior.  She got all the heirlooms, she did leveling correctly, professions were chosen (jewelcrafting, naturally), all possible flight paths gotten, books were searched out and all her secondary professions were leveled apace, if not ahead of whatever she might need.  I did all this, since it is my wont.  It’s how I roll.

She made it to 44 four days ago.  She hearthed to Dalaran and I saw some female Trolls walking around and all of a sudden I didn’t want to play a Gnome whatsoever.  I wanted my Troll.  Posthaste.

I hesitantly asked Lus, “Would you care if I played my shaman?” and I poked him for emphasis, since he was immersed in a battleground.  “Sure, play what you want,” he replied to his screen.

I was practically already logged in by the time he finished talking.

So, while I did a total 180 in my playing from Gnome warrior (Arms) to Troll shaman (Resto) I realized that while my character and role my change, my style of playing doesn’t.  I throw myself into developing the character, all go no quit.  It’s that way with every character.  It’s sometimes exhausting to play and also why I hang on to characters longer than is probably wise in regards to interest.  Not sure if this style of mine is good or not, but dammit, at least my characters are well rounded.

To segue back to what I mentioned before, battlegrounds.  Lus is doing them.  While his interest in PvP isn’t new, the active PvPing is very new.  Like, considering speccing his warlock for PvP new.  Buying mats for a starter PvP set new.  I’m not sure what to think of it (and glad that I am safely Hordeside right now so that I can’t be lured into running them with him.)

OH ALSO?

His warlock is 80.  I thought I’d never see the day.  YAY LUS!

Now, back to the PvP.  He actually got his last five levels or so with a good solid mix of instancing and battlegrounds.  And in only a few days too!  Surprises around every corner, I tell you.  As you may already know if you’ve read me for a bit of time, I dislike PvP.  A lot.  I never ever do it.  I avoid it.  I won’t even duel.  However, seeing him PvP so much has rather encouraged me to go try out a few battlegrounds here and there, which is a change of pace, if a stressful one.  (I only do it for the achievements!)

Random: PuGs are making me lose faith in humanity.  Srsly.  It also makes me say, “I hate people” more often than one person should in such a small timeframe.

To continue: since I have no form to the post whatsoever, let’s talk about the fact that I am so enamoured of my shaman that I have made her her own wowhead profile.  Yes.  Also that I have made her an RP name though she isn’t going to be RP’d and also that I have the unattainable goal of making her “the Seeker” because “it fits” but would most likely kill me if I ever tried to get it.  True story.

She also has hot pink hair.  Also true.

(Which makes me wonder if it’s disconcerting to see that your healer has hot pink hair in a crest/mohawk.  IYO?)

Re: blogroll – I have been neglecting the blogroll too much lately.  Rest assured that I am reading you and that you’ll be rightfully placed on Anea’s Blogroll of Reading once things get moved to the new WP version of the blog.

Disclaimer: I may lose patience with this blogging service and switch to the new blog by the end of the week.  Start your “switch link/feed” engines.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. June 1, 2010 7:02 AM

    I always find that I get into PvP in the quiet time at the end of an era. I may finally make it to Revered with Silversong Sentinels after 5+ years, this time. I’ll certainly get Wintergrasp Veteran in a day or so.

  2. June 1, 2010 7:46 AM

    I used to go whole hog with my alts (Cooking/First Aid/Sometimes Fishing. Getting every corner of every map filled), but I laxed off of it after hitting around 14 alts. However, my biggest regret was not making many of them "self sufficient" in their primary professions. I would make one alt whose sole purpose is to gather herbs and ore and supply it to the others. This. Was. A. Pain. Never again will I do it, at least not while leveling. If it’s a JC/BS/Engi? Mining as the second primary. Ditto with herby professions. Even my new, has no one to back him financially hunter on a new realm is going whole hock skinning/lw make-my-own-stuff-as-I-level crazy.

  3. June 1, 2010 12:37 PM

    I will agree with you on the PvP – in general I really don’t like it. On occassion I play a little with my friend since he loves it! And he whines that I never play with him. So sometimes I do. For like.. 1-2 battlegrounds before I give up with a loud huffing and puffing.I have some alts I want to play/level – but I seem to be too busy flailing around trying to figure out which character of mine should be my main in Cataclysm. If only I could make up my mind *sighs*When I do level an alt I get into hard-mode levelling too though! For some reason I love picking professions and keeping them leveled – I love scanning the Auction House for cute, green gear – or crafting them with my professions. I don’t know why – I just love the initial gearing of a new alt. While getting a new piece for my current 80 main is of course nice – it’s not the same for some reason.

  4. June 1, 2010 2:19 PM

    Hot pink mohawks make me happy. If I had more free character slots, I’d so totally have a gnome mage with a hot pink mohawk. Come Cataclysm, maybe that’ll be a gnome priest instead. Who knows?@Saga: I know your pain. My death knight is actually my most-developed 80, as well as the one who’s tanking ICC week in and week out; I also have a rogue at 80, and the playstyle is growing on me. However, my warlock, mage, priest, hunter, and shaman are all calling for me to finish them… and all the neat toys they have… hey, maybe they’d be fun to main… and I have spots reserved for a druid and a warrior as well once worgen are available. Yargh!

  5. June 1, 2010 2:19 PM

    Hot pink mohawks make me happy. If I had more free character slots, I’d so totally have a gnome mage with a hot pink mohawk. Come Cataclysm, maybe that’ll be a gnome priest instead. Who knows?@Saga: I know your pain. My death knight is actually my most-developed 80, as well as the one who’s tanking ICC week in and week out; I also have a rogue at 80, and the playstyle is growing on me. However, my warlock, mage, priest, hunter, and shaman are all calling for me to finish them… and all the neat toys they have… hey, maybe they’d be fun to main… and I have spots reserved for a druid and a warrior as well once worgen are available. Yargh!

  6. June 1, 2010 5:45 PM

    If you’re new to PvP, a lack of resilience and stamina is going to make PvP really unforgiving. The best entry points, IMO, are the vehicle fights, where your gear matters less. Wintergrasp is the best, assuming your side wins periodically, because you can buy the PvP entry gear available there, and it’s kept nicely up to date. (And in some cases, it has really cool graphics.)In between WG battles, Strand of the Ancients is also good for this. Isle of Conquest has vehicles, but in my experience, you spend much less time in them, compared to Strand. And, of course, do as much of VoA as you can manage to get done each reset — even the older bosses are worth doing for the PvP gear if you’ve got none.If you want to PvP even periodically with your friend, go to your PvP quartermasters in Stormwind/Orgrimmar and look at the vendors in Wintergrasp while you control the keep and make a budget of what you can afford when. It only takes a few pieces of gear to start noticing a difference in your survivability. And once you’ve got, say, 800 resilience, the fights stop being gankfests. If you keep acquiring gear beyond that, you eventually become incredibly robust, so long as you remember to not get involved in solo fights if you can at all help it. I’ve got 1,200+ resilience now, and I actually can take two or three rogues banging on me for a bit while I burn down their healer.And, most importantly of all, don’t take it personally: Everyone dies in PvP, and sometimes, they die a LOT. The goal is to get your team to win, not to survive untouched (in fact, the two goals are almost always at odds), and if you can slow down or distract the enemy, or make it possible for someone else to save the day, it’s all worth it.

  7. June 1, 2010 5:47 PM

    Nah, I don’t judge by appearances, I’d assume you are as trustworthy a healer with your hot pink hair as any other healer (and if I knew it was you, more trustworthy than most!) Sometimes I think your banner ought to be this massive crowd of people, just… all your alts, ever. :D It’s an identity in and of itself. So long as you’re having fun in the game – it’ll give you something to write about. I have the opposite problem, I really enjoy the blogging but am less enamored lately of the game.

  8. June 1, 2010 5:47 PM

    Nah, I don’t judge by appearances, I’d assume you are as trustworthy a healer with your hot pink hair as any other healer (and if I knew it was you, more trustworthy than most!) Sometimes I think your banner ought to be this massive crowd of people, just… all your alts, ever. :D It’s an identity in and of itself. So long as you’re having fun in the game – it’ll give you something to write about. I have the opposite problem, I really enjoy the blogging but am less enamored lately of the game.

  9. June 1, 2010 6:26 PM

    PvP’s weird. Sometimes I can really enjoy standing at the back in a bg giggling away while I murder Gnomes and Paladins with stupid names, and sometimes I really hate it. Haven’t touched arena since TBC and even then it was a rare thing. Basically: I’m with you. PvP is a tad too stressful.

  10. June 1, 2010 6:26 PM

    PvP’s weird. Sometimes I can really enjoy standing at the back in a bg giggling away while I murder Gnomes and Paladins with stupid names, and sometimes I really hate it. Haven’t touched arena since TBC and even then it was a rare thing. Basically: I’m with you. PvP is a tad too stressful.

  11. Anea permalink
    June 2, 2010 4:58 PM

    @Ringo Flinthammer: Thanks for the PvP advice – I’ve passed it on to Lus as well, so he knows there’s a light at the end of the "only 400 resilience" tunnel, haha.@Vrykerion: I know many people who do the "main is a crafter, alts supply ore" route and while lucrative for the one particular main, I can’t imagine doing it myself – so many hours put in to work on just the one character! As you do now, if I have a crafting profession on an alt, she will always have a complimentary gathering profession. (In fact, I’m so used to crafting on my characters that I’m having issues coping with two gathering professions on my shaman, haha.)@Saga: I really enjoy working on my professions too! At first it started out with "I want my character to be self sufficient, she MUST have these leveled!" but then it became a habit to drop a fishing line into water when I had a chance, to make the cloth into bandages when I was in town and to cook the meat that I get while questing into food I can use. It surprises me when people DON’T do these things!@Stop: I think that after all this time of hating pink hair ("How stupid, gawd I hate pink!") I’ve secretly come around to admitting that I like it. My Gnome warrior has pink hair in the "Sprouts" hairstyle. I love it.@Vidyala: Aw, shucks! /blush Also: I was talking to Naithin (a WoW used-to-be-blogger) and he really agrees with this idea… The characters would be about five rows deep! And thanks for being supportive of the "play what you want as long as it makes you happy" bit – I really do worry when I change alts and then announce it on the blog, that everyone will roll their eyes and eventually give up on me. Perhaps send me to an Alt Asylum or something.@Jaedia: I’ve found I really like it when we’re winning :D Everyone tells me, "PvP is way less stressful than healing!" Uh, no. It’s so not. I hope that if I "condition" myself to PvP, it won’t be so bad in the end.

  12. Anea permalink
    June 2, 2010 4:58 PM

    @Ringo Flinthammer: Thanks for the PvP advice – I’ve passed it on to Lus as well, so he knows there’s a light at the end of the "only 400 resilience" tunnel, haha.@Vrykerion: I know many people who do the "main is a crafter, alts supply ore" route and while lucrative for the one particular main, I can’t imagine doing it myself – so many hours put in to work on just the one character! As you do now, if I have a crafting profession on an alt, she will always have a complimentary gathering profession. (In fact, I’m so used to crafting on my characters that I’m having issues coping with two gathering professions on my shaman, haha.)@Saga: I really enjoy working on my professions too! At first it started out with "I want my character to be self sufficient, she MUST have these leveled!" but then it became a habit to drop a fishing line into water when I had a chance, to make the cloth into bandages when I was in town and to cook the meat that I get while questing into food I can use. It surprises me when people DON’T do these things!@Stop: I think that after all this time of hating pink hair ("How stupid, gawd I hate pink!") I’ve secretly come around to admitting that I like it. My Gnome warrior has pink hair in the "Sprouts" hairstyle. I love it.@Vidyala: Aw, shucks! /blush Also: I was talking to Naithin (a WoW used-to-be-blogger) and he really agrees with this idea… The characters would be about five rows deep! And thanks for being supportive of the "play what you want as long as it makes you happy" bit – I really do worry when I change alts and then announce it on the blog, that everyone will roll their eyes and eventually give up on me. Perhaps send me to an Alt Asylum or something.@Jaedia: I’ve found I really like it when we’re winning :D Everyone tells me, "PvP is way less stressful than healing!" Uh, no. It’s so not. I hope that if I "condition" myself to PvP, it won’t be so bad in the end.

Leave a Reply

