Skip to content

The Farmer in the Dell

March 7, 2009

farming

Farming is one aspect of the game that I’ve never liked. In fact, I think that most people would agree that farming isn’t that fun. Then there are the people that actually enjoy it. (Crazies, all of them.)

My routine is usually to put it off until absolutely necessary, then resignedly farm mats for hours and hours, getting as much as possible; use whatever I’ve farmed until it’s practically out, then just repeat.

Which isn’t the best way to do it. If I could just get in a good routine, farming a little bit every so often instead of hours on end once every few weeks, it would save me headaches, I’m sure of it.  But it just doesn’t seem practical.  Taking an hour out of whatever playtime you have per day, for example, fly around and look for herbs, then just stop?  And do it again tomorrow?  That seems like such a drag.  But I also know that the headaches I get from spending hours circling around Storm Peaks looking for herbs aren’t any fun either.

Do I just not have the right tools?  I don’t use any addons to help me – I know that a while ago everyone swore by Gatherer, and I did try it out.  But I really didn’t like all the yellow dots that littered my map when I didn’t need them.  Has it changed since then, or has Gatherer gone out of style?

Or do I just not have the right mindset?  I’m sure that gold is a motivational factor for most people.  However, what herbs I gather and fish I fish are used solely for Lus and I – I don’t auction them.  Because if I auctioned them, that would mean they run out faster which means I need to farm more often.  (See how that works?  Despite the prospect of gold, I hate farming so much I will forfeit it.)  So, I don’t have money as the motivating factor.  I don’t see the draw of it being time to just mindlessly do something either.

And let’s not even talk about farming rep.  /shudder

How do you handle your farming responsibilities? Do you even have to farm mats?  What makes it bearable to you?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Will Leshner permalink
    March 7, 2009 11:06 PM

    I believe you can turn off displaying dots on the mini-map in Gatherer. Would that help?

  2. March 8, 2009 1:24 PM

    I’ve still got it easy for farming – my Warp Stalker still isn’t 80, so when I need to head out and farm more meat, it doubles as a chance to level my pet, so I’ve got some motivation.I also tend to farm when testing new addons, so I can make sure they work properly in combat.When I’m out of pets to level and addons to test… then I’ll be scuppered.

  3. Jack permalink
    March 9, 2009 2:25 PM

    Mostly I’ve just farmed while I quested. That generally provides a lot of what I’ve needed to level up professions.With some exceptions. Like when I’m farming with a high level character to level up a profession for an alt. Or with my Death Knight starting professions at 0 when I’m level 58. Then it is just locate where the resources I want are, go there and loop through the zone until I have the quantity I need. I don’t use any add-ons for it either. I’ll check wowhead before I start to figure out where to go.The other major exception I’ve made is getting small radiant shards for fiery weapon scrolls. I again used wowhead to figure out what I needed to disenchant to get them, identified the instance with the most boss drops in that category (RFD), and hit that instance.I guess I don’t really mind farming. It’s not my favorite aspect of the game, but I honestly don’t dislike it. And farming RFD for the radiant shard disenchantables is actually pretty fun. Maybe it’s just the 80s video gamer coming out, but the repetition just lets me get more efficient, finish the game faster, so to speak. Like playing Pac Man over and over.

  4. March 9, 2009 3:24 PM

    I once had a boyfriend turn down sex for farming motes.FARMING MOTES.I don’t date him anymore.XDFarming is one of those things I do for 5 minutes, then get distracted and go level an alt. For 5 minutes. And then…hehe.

  5. Catryalini permalink
    March 10, 2009 2:24 PM

    I use Gathered and have over 4k nodes on it. You can turn it off when you are not farming or are on a toon that does not gather. I don’t mind farming too much at my level (low) I just gather as I quest. If I really need something I’ll ask my daughter the maxed out herbalist for a freebie. Hey that’s what family does for each other. 

  6. March 11, 2009 8:48 AM

    Grim does my farming at the moment, and I try to do it when the server is really quiet so that I can pretty well have run of the zone. When Azok is bigger, I’ll send him off on farming runs too (but for herbs) … the nice thing there will be he won’t even have to shapeshift out of birdie form.

Leave a comment